Nobel Prize winner Naguib Mahfouz dies

Naguib Mahfouz: Cairo Trilogy

On Wednesday, August 30, 2006, Naguib Mahfouz died at age 94. (Read The Economist’s obituary). Mahfouz won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1988. His Cairo Trilogy (Palace Walk, Palace of Desire, and Sugar Street) was one of my most enjoyable reads in the past few years. I had written a previous post on Mahfouz earlier this year. If you are interested in 20th Century Egypt or simply want to read a great entertaining saga, I highly recommend the Trilogy.


Leave a comment

Filed under Essays, Literature

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s